“Sloppy” Joe Casserole

While perusing Pinterest I came across an interesting looking dinner idea… So of course I pinned it to my “Dinner Time” board and completely forgot about it, lol! I know we are all guilty of doing the same thing more often than not. Any who, last night I was at a complete loss about dinner, and then BAM I remembered that pin. So after finding it in my board I made sure I had enough items to make it.

Growing up one of my all-time favorite dinners was Sloppy Joes. I mean what kid doesn’t enjoy eating with their hands and getting messy, without getting into trouble!? I have made the same meal for my family a few times, and my daughter feels the same as I used to. So this different take seemed awesome, but minus the sloppy cleanup after, win-win I’d say!

Unlike the original post we used ground beef, McCormick Sloppy Joe skillet sauce, no cheese and sheet crescent dough. The skillet sauce already had all the garlic, peppers and other flavor-able parts included so simplicity even more!!!

BIKE

Ingredients
2 Packages of Pillsbury Crescent Dough Sheets
1 lb lean ground beef
1 package McCormick Sloppy Joe Skillet Sauce

  1. Preheat oven to 350. In a saucepan brown ground beef until thoroughly cooked.
  2. Once ground beef has been fully cooked add in Skillet sauce packet and follow directions on back.
  3. While the meat is cooking spray a casserole dish with non stick spray and using 1 of the packages of dough cover the entire bottom of the dish.
  4. Once the beef and skillet sauce has finished cooking add it to the top of the dough and use the remaining package of dough on top of the meat.
  5. Bake for 15-20 min, or until top is golden brown. 5 min before its supposed to be done, using a basting brush, apply melted butter mixed with garlic salt over entire top and return to the oven to complete.

My husband and daughter have both requested this be added to our menu plan list, but we will be adding in cheese going forward. It was very tasty without the cheese, but was definitely missing something!

As always, would love to hear you and your families thoughts, opinions and variations of this! Happy cooking 🙂

xKx

Leave a Reply

